The One Who Helps Me

A few years ago, my sister Dar Gail gave me an index card with the following verses:”Fear not for I am with you. Be not dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you; I will help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand…for I the Lord your God hold your right hand. It is I who say to you, ‘Fear not! I am the one who helps you.'” Isaiah 41:10,13. She shared how God had been using these verses in her life and she knew they would bless me as well. I appreciated these verses. But I wasn’t at a point in my life and walk where their message really hit home to me. I kept the card though. lying around my desk, and later as a bookmark in my Bible.

It wasn’t until Joel’s impending hearing to be sentenced, that I pulled the card out and began to memorize these words. I was fretful of all the things I would have to learn how to do when Joel was gone, like paying bills, doing our taxes, getting the oil changed in the car, and the list goes on and on. God spoke to me almost audibly as I wrote these words on my heart. “Tabitha, I AM the one who helps you.”

Today has been one of those days when I feel like I am being faced with more decisions than I am capable of making, when I know my wisdom is not sufficient to the task at hand. And this passage of Scripture was brought  powerfully back to my mind. I am always unequal to the task. But He is always holding my right hand.

Please pray for me to let Him help me, to trust Him in the decisions that have to be made, and to rest in His guidance and provision once those decisions have been made.